Review: 2018 BMW X1 xDrive28i

We have the BMW X1 xDrive28i again for a goodly duration, and I’ve reacquainted myself with the small SUV. (Read my first review here.) The X1 and I have taken on a long highway trip to wine country, flogged canyon roads, and done more than a week’s worth of grocery-getting. I’ve come away charmed with this little beasty.

I am most delighted with its steering, which is quick and quite communicative. Even though electric power assistance is used in the X1, there is real road feel in the X1’s wheel. This is a coup for EPAS steering; most contemporary cars have lost their road chatter. (The rubbery steering resistance of an EPAS system is not avoided.)

The 2.0L turbo engine is as punchy and efficient as ever, pulling hard from low rpm when I need it and relaxing when I don’t. The eight-speed automatic transmission is crisp, intelligent and obedient. Automatic mode always has the right gear for normal driving. When toggled into manual mode for sporting driving, smooth gear changes are served up instantly.

In terms of ride and body control, the X1 delivers a convincing impression of an F30 BMW 3 series with the M Sport suspension. The X1 rides firmly without being jittery or abusive, controls its weight well, and only gets bouncy over the largest bumps. Enthusiasts of like mind to me will be happy with the ride balance around town, on the highway, and on country backroads.

In the city, the X1 feels like it is the right size. It is compact enough to thread through city streets and slot into parking spots but spacious enough for my family of three. Being an SUV, there is ample headroom and easy ingress/egress. The driver has good forward visibility through the upright windscreen, though rear visibility is obstructed by the C and D pillars. The driving ergonomics are good, though strangely, I feel like the steering wheel is closer to my right hand than to my left. Back seat space in the X1 is reasonable: 6’ 2” yours-truly can sit behind himself, but toddlers in car seats have constant kick-access to the seat ahead of them. My wife moves her seat forward to give our three-year-old extra legroom.

I discovered a few handy features that I missed in my first X1 review. The trunk floor is high to make a flat loading area, but the floor cover can be removed to expose an extra four inches of depth. The power rear hatch can be air-kicked open, making it easy to load the trunk when my hands are full. The rear seats can be reclined slightly for comfort or for freeing an extra inch of room for child seats.

My first X1 had BMW’s SensaTec leather, and I am sad to report that the optional Dakota leather is not much of an upgrade. On the seats, the Dakota leather is disappointingly waxy and harsh to the touch. The steering wheel leather is the same.

The X1’s German DNA is front and center in its highway mannerisms. It mistakes US Interstates for German autobahns and would be happy to churn along at 100 mph all day long. The X1 is so at ease with breaking the speed limit that my wife and I doubt the veracity of its speedometer and suspect BMW is fluffing the numbers. (GPS proved us wrong: the X1’s speedo was only 3 mph optimistic.)

Speeders in X1’s may be penalized by the law, but they won’t be punished at the pump. An 80 mph highway cruise returns ~30 mpg. (As reported by the trip computer.) My only complaint with the X1 on the highway is that its steering requires many little course corrections. Realignment might help, though this X1 has just 3,000 miles on the odometer.

When driven with gusto through the mountains, the X1’s family ties with Mini are highlighted. Like a Mini, the X1 is very eager to corner, minimizes its body roll, and feels driven from the nose. The sense from the driver’s seat is that the X1’s front axle leads the vehicle into the corner and then drags it out of the corner. The rear tires hardly feel driven; adding heapings of throttle won’t cause the X1 to rotate like an RWD car. The X1’s cornering capabilities are commendably high, and a confident driver could keep up with lots of hotter metal. When pushed beyond its cornering limits, the X1’s front outside tire gives up first, producing understeer. It is a better approach than spinning backward into a ditch: Safety first!

The Bay Area’s backroads are quite bumpy, but even when driven aggressively, the X1 covers most bumps and bobs without trouble or harshness. When the X1’s suspension travel is completely expended, the SUV bounces briefly. Have you ever sat on a trampoline and had a friend jump onto the net? That is the bouncing sensation in the X1 when the suspension runs out of travel. Unlike underdamped cars that float over bumps and lose directional control, the X1 feels fully controllable during these bounces.

Bear Creek Road has become my NorCal suspension proving ground. To my surprise, the X1 covers Bear Creek’s bumps much better than my M3. My M3 felt sketchy over Bear Creek’s worst, begging me to slow down and keep everything under control. (Yes, the M3 has 70k miles on its shocks.) The X1 can keep a head of steam while the road undulates under its tires.

I like this little SUV and enjoyed thrashing it through Tilden and on Bear Creek. The biggest compliment I can give the X1 is that I invariably want to refer to it as a car. The X1 drives so much better than I expect out of an SUV and is a quick little corner carver. I do wish for a bit more jovial character to the X1, as much of its fun comes from the incongruity of hustling such a competent small SUV. A good engine note or exhaust crackles could break the edge on the X1’s serious attitude and tickle out a few giggles from the driver. Until then, the X1 is practical, fleet and efficient, but not giddy.

Leave a comment